Monday, June 11, 2007

Fraggle Season Set Episode Confusion

On Thursday I shared the details of the upcoming "Fraggle Rock – Complete Third Season" DVD box set. One detail that sparked questioning from many fans (my inbox was flooded with inquires) was the fact that the information from producers stated that the set would include "24 episodes". Now as any fanatical Fraggle fan will tell you, the third broadcast season of Fraggle Rock (which aired on HBO in 1985) was comprised of only 22 episodes.

Whereas HBO bundled and aired the 96 episodes of Fraggle Rock in 5 season groupings (of 24, 24, 22, 13 and 13 episodes respectively); Henson had produced and filmed the series in 4 evenly sized seasons of 24 episodes each. It was later that HBO decided to shuffle the episodes around to artificially stretch the material into an additional season.

I contacted a representative at HIT Entertainment about the issue of the DVD sets' episodes and here is their direct response:

"We are releasing the sets by production seasons, not by broadcast seasons. Season 3 will have 24 episodes."

So the information was accurate, this third season set will include 24 episodes - the 24 episodes produced in the third season (listed below). The set will be coming out on September 11, 2007 and will be loaded with all new featurettes, interviews and other bonus features. So with the upcoming third season DVD box set that leaves only one more season (the 24 episodes of the fourth production season) left to be released. I'll keep you posted with more information on the third, and hopefully fourth, seasons of Fraggle Rock on DVD.

     Episode Listing

  1. The Bells of Fraggle Rock
  2. Red-Handed and the Invisible Thief
  3. Boober and the Glob
  4. The Grapes of Generosity
  5. Blanket of Snow, Blanket of Woe
  6. Pebble Pox Blues
  7. Home Is Where the Trash Is
  8. Believe It or Not
  9. Wembley and the Mean Genie
  10. The Secret Society of Poobahs
  11. The Beanbarrow, the Burden and the Bright Bouquet
  12. Gobo's School for Explorers
  13. Scared Silly
  14. The Great Radish Caper
  15. Born to Wander
  16. The Battle of Leaking Roof
  17. Playing Till It Hurts
  18. Bored Stiff
  19. The Cavern of Lost Dreams
  20. The Incredible Shrinking Mokey
  21. A Dark and Stormy Night
  22. Gunge the Great and Glorious
  23. Sprocket's Big Adventure
  24. Wembley's Wonderful Whoopie Water

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Correction: "Sidebottom Blues" and "Whoopie Water" were both taped in March '85, at the end of the Season 3 production schedule. The last production season, which started taping in October '85, had the episode titles at the beginning after the theme sequence, but these two have no episode titles, which means they were made for Season 3.